COVID-19 update for Bastow participants

Graduate Teacher Conference

  • Audience
    Teacher
  • Next Intake
    Multiple intakes
  • Location
    Online
  • Duration
    1 day
  • Mode
    Online
  • Fees
    DET fully subsidised

The Graduate Teacher Conferences (GTC) aim to build the capacity of graduate teachers and foster a network at the area level.

Attending a GTC will help you get the support and resources you need to manage your wellbeing and resilience as a graduate teacher.

They also provide a great opportunity to grow your professional networks and collaborate with other graduate teachers.

The GTCs are delivered by Deakin University on behalf of the Department of Education and Training’s Teacher Professional Practice unit.

Audience

Designed for graduate teachers in their first year of teaching.  

Each region will deliver its own 1-day online conference.

The program for each conference is:

8.45am

Registration

9.00am - 9.15am

Welcome and Acknowledgement of Country

9.15am - 10.15am

Session 1: Sharing our professional identities

10.20am - 11.25am

Session 2:  Part A - Building our professional practice

11.30am - 12.15pm

Session 3: Part B - Building our professional practice

12.15pm - 12.40pm

Lunch break

12.40pm - 1.30pm

Session 4: Supporting our wellbeing

1.30pm - 2.15pm

Session 5: Building our professional networks

The conference gives you an opportunity to:

  • become an active part in your professional community
  • build your professional practice and resilience as professional educators
  • form a strong professional identity.

To register for your local GTC, click on your region’s link, and select the Area in which your school is located. Registrations are managed by Deakin University through Eventbrite.

South Eastern Victoria Region

Inner and Outer Gippsland | 28 July
Southern Melbourne A | 3 August
Southern Melbourne B | 25 August
Bayside Peninsula | 28 August

South Western Victoria Region

Brimbank Melton | Thursday 30 July
Western Melbourne | Friday 31 July
Barwon | Monday 24 August 
Wimmera South West | Monday 31 August
Central Highlands | Tuesday 11 August
Western Melbourne | Wednesday 19 August

North Eastern Victoria Region

Outer East | Wednesday 2 September  
Inner East A | Tuesday 18 August 
Ovens Murray | Wednesday 26 August
Inner East B | Tuesday 1 September
Goulburn | Thursday 3 September

North Western Victoria Region

Loddon Campaspe | Wednesday 12 August
Mallee | Friday 14 August
Hume/Moreland | Thursday 20 August
North East Melbourne | Friday 21 August
Combined Areas | 2 September

Jessica Brosnan
Senior Policy and Project Officer
Teacher Professional Practice Unit
Jessica.Brosnan@education.vic.gov.au

Brandi Fox
GTC Project Lead
Deakin University
brandi.fox@deakin.edu.au

View dates and register